The Latest News

Expand Electoral College for parliamentary primaries slot- Amakye Boateng

Political lecture at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Amakye Boateng is calling on the various political parties to expand its electoral college for the parliamentary primaries slot.
He stated that parliamentary primaries slot is mostly characterized by ‘the highest bidder’ which sometimes affects the quality of candidate voted for to represent the constituency.
He stated that if the Electoral College is expanded it will prevent candidates from engaging in bribery and corruption.
Speaking to Adom news, Mr Amakye Boateng expressed his worry when delegates vote for a particular candidate who offers more money to them rather than capitalizing on the experience and quality of the aspirants.
The Political Analyst made these assertions when he was discussing the effect on losing sitting on the quality of work in Parliament.
For now both the NDC and the NPP have elected members to represent them in Parliament for the December elections though they are still some areas yet to be decided.
Interested some seating outspoken MPs have both lost their seat to represent their constituency in the various areas.
Looking at the NPP, some of the members who would be kissing good bye to parliamentary duties includes: the MP for Ahafo Ano South Stephen Kweku Balado-Manu and Maxwell Kofi Jumah MP for Asokwa.
Four sitting MPs in the Eastern Region lost their bids to be re-elected to represent their constituencies in Parliament
They are Madam Bernice Beatrice Boateng, Professor Emmanuel Amoako (Abuakwa North), Amankwaa Asiamah (Fanteakwa) and Joseph Ampoma Bosompem (Akyem Swedru).
Ashong Narh, the MP for Tema East, and Elizabeth Sackey, the MP for Okaikoi North`1, Yaw Baah (Kumawu), Edward Ennin (Obuasi) and Nana Abu Bonsra (Fomena) make up the list.
In the NDC Five sitting Members of Parliament in the greater Accra region will join the list of retired legislators, including Alex Tettey-Enyo, Alfred Abayateye, Adu Asare and Nii Nortey Dua.
The rest includes: Deputy Education Minister Elizabeth Amoah Tetteh, Michael Teye Nyaunu, Ho Central, incumbent Capt. George Mfodwo, North Tongu, beating Charles Hodugbe.
Mr Amakye Boateng emphasized that delegates should also consider the duties and the experience of the candidate they vote for to represent them.
Some parliamentarians need to be maintained in the house to enrich the quality of debate and generally improve the work of parliament.
Story: Samuel Mantey/Adom news/Ghana


January 31, 2012 - Posted by | SETTING THE NEWS AGENDA

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: